Days 5 and 6.

I’m watching Friends as I write this… ah, how appropriate!  (Clue with the titles, if you don’t get it, I feel sorry for you.  Call me and let’s fix that.)  Anyway, last night’s dinner was with my co-worker, Amy, and my former co-worker, Kimberly, at the incredibly sketchy-on-the-outside-because-it’s-on-Federal but everything-is-delectable-on-the-inside-because-it’s-in-Highlands Ernie’s Pizza.

Kimberly, Amy, and I at the 2011 ACMNP board meeting

Kimberly is now in school for a Master’s degree in Nutritional Therapy here at a local holistic health center, and her face literally glowed with excitement over everything she’s learning.  That coconut oil can be good for you even though it’s high in saturated fat.  That olive oil is terrible when heated to mid or high temperatures because then all the good nutrients get cooked out.  That too much sugar in our system causes our body to react similarly as it would to hard drugs like cocaine.  That just drinking more water with lemon can help better balance your body’s PH.  So much interesting!  I find it necessary to balance new cooking and new ways of eating with BOTH flavor and its nutritional/social benefit.  In other words, if it tastes like cardboard but is ‘good for you,’ I don’t want to eat it.  (Like the tempeh oat loaf I experimented with last week.)   If it tastes delicious but is super bad for my body or the world, I don’t want to eat that either.  (Like Cheetos – one of my most terrible rare cravings, or like veal.)  It’s possible to eat with both considerations in mind, and that’s what I’m interested in.  As I read from a vegan blogger the other day, I like the idea of a 97/3 diet.  97% of the time eating healthy, nutritious, balanced, good for my taste buds whole foods, plant-based meals – and 3% of the time indulging in those foods which make our bodies say, “Ahhhhh yesssss!”  I predict that tomorrow’s dinner at TAG, the first Restaurant Week date for me and Alex this year, will be of the latter category.

Tonight I dined at home with my good friend from Highlands, Wendy, with whom I always have trouble connecting.  Our schedules tend to be completely opposite as I work an 8-4 mostly desk job and she’s in food service as the single mom of a vivacious five-year old blonde bombshell.  We talked about our apartments and dating relationships, and I asked to hear cute stories about little Riley.  It was a not so subtle reminder that as much as I look forward to having children, when I do…. these dinner experiment luxuries will probably not be possible.  The day will come when I share meals over plans for carpool and stir pasta with a crying baby on my hip.  I am truly grateful for this time in my life, being young and unmarried and able to dream, learn, and discover with freedom on my hips instead.

Lessons from the past two nights?  Honor the bodies we’ve been blessed with.  There is, and will be, a season for everything.

